ARTICLE / SEPTEMBER 23, 2026
Kortix vs Eigent vs Kuse: Which Is the Best Self-Hosted AI Agent Platform?
Compare Kortix, Eigent, and Kuse as self-hosted AI agent platforms by license, deployment, model choice, and review gates, with sourced evidence.
By Kortix Blog · Published: September 23, 2026
Kortix is an open-source, source-available AI Management System for building and running autonomous AI agents, self-hostable or managed cloud.
Choosing the best self-hosted AI agent platform turns on two questions that marketing pages often blur together: what the license actually lets you do, and what the product can actually do. This comparison puts Kortix, Eigent, and Kuse side by side on license, deployment, model choice, shared memory, execution isolation, and human review — and it links a source for every claim. Kortix is the option this article treats as the reference point because it publishes both its product documentation and its repository license, so its claims can be checked directly.
This is a documentation-based comparison of published pages and repository files, not a hands-on benchmark, security certification, or legal opinion. Vendor copy is labeled as such and reproduced only as each vendor's own page states it. For the query family behind this comparison, the pages that currently rank are community threads on github.com and reddit.com, followed by kuse.ai, nimbalyst.com, openworklabs.com, and eigent.ai (SERP competitor observation, September 23, 2026). Nimbalyst was not fetched for this comparison, so it is named as a ranking result only and is not characterized here.
What Eigent is
Eigent is a desktop, local-first multi-agent product that its own site describes as an "Open Source Cowork Desktop" (eigent.ai). Eigent organizes work into Spaces that package agents, Skills, and Connectors once so a setup can be reused across sessions, and its page says agents "share context, use your tools, and deliver results ready for review" (eigent.ai).
Eigent documents deployment and model control on its own page. The site says you can "deploy locally or self-host in an environment your team controls," listing "local execution" and "self-hosted deployment," and describes the product as model agnostic across cloud providers, an enterprise gateway, and local models, with bring-your-own-key access (eigent.ai).
Eigent's published pricing is a free tier that runs with your own API keys or local models, a $19.99/month plan with 2,000 task credits per month, and a $99.99/month plan with 10,000 task credits per month, plus a custom enterprise tier marked "coming soon" (eigent.ai). The same page states that "SOC 2 readiness and GDPR compliance work remain in progress," which means those certifications were not complete as of the page's review (eigent.ai).
What Kuse is
Kuse is an AI workspace product that its site describes as "an AI workspace that gets things off your plate" (kuse.ai). Kuse bundles prebuilt workflow automations and content generation: the fetched page shows workflows for generating launch pages and web copy, generating business leads from Google Maps, extracting LinkedIn comments to leads with Apify and Google Sheets, monitoring LinkedIn job listings, automating YouTube channel lead generation, and automating email responses with Gmail and Google Sheets (kuse.ai).
Kuse also positions itself around document and data work, turning rough notes into structured briefs, proposals, and client-ready documents, and organizing raw inputs into tables, trackers, and dashboards (kuse.ai). The fetched Kuse page does not state a license, a self-hosting path, a model-choice policy, or public pricing, so this comparison records those dimensions as not documented rather than assuming values for them (kuse.ai).
What Kortix is
Kortix is an AI Management System that keeps agents, skills, company memory, connector configuration, and triggers as text in a single git repository the team owns, rather than as settings inside a vendor's database (kortix.com). Kortix runs agents on real cloud computers — an isolated Linux sandbox per session, on a branch named after the session — and lands their output as a change request a human reviews before it reaches main (github.com/kortix-ai/suna).
Kortix is model-agnostic. Its product page says you can pick a model per agent, per session, or per message; bring your own API key from any major provider; point Kortix at any OpenAI-compatible endpoint; or sign in with a ChatGPT subscription you already pay for (kortix.com).
Kortix runs on your own infrastructure. The repository describes self-hosting from Docker images on "a laptop, a VPS, your own VPC, or your own on-prem network," with a CLI that switches between cloud and your own hosts; managed hosting is Kortix Cloud (github.com/kortix-ai/suna). Kortix's repository carries Elastic License 2.0, which makes it source-available rather than OSI open source, even though the project's own copy calls itself open source (LICENSE).
Feature-by-feature comparison
Each cell carries its own source link. "Not documented" means the fetched page does not state that dimension for that product; it does not mean the capability is absent.
| Criterion | Kortix | Eigent | Kuse |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | An AI Management System: agents, skills, memory, connectors and triggers in one git repo (kortix.com) | A desktop, local-first multi-agent "Cowork Desktop" built around Spaces, Skills and Connectors (eigent.ai) | An AI workspace with prebuilt workflow automations and content generation (kuse.ai) |
| License / source availability | Elastic License 2.0 — source-available, not OSI open source (LICENSE) | Site states "100% open source — host it yourself, free" (eigent.ai) | Not documented on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
| Self-hosting / deployment | Self-host the control plane from Docker images on a laptop, VPS, VPC or on-prem; or use managed Kortix Cloud (github.com/kortix-ai/suna) | "Deploy locally or self-host in an environment your team controls"; local execution and self-hosted deployment (eigent.ai) | Not documented on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
| Model choice | Any provider with your own keys, any OpenAI-compatible endpoint, or a ChatGPT subscription; model per agent, session or message (kortix.com) | Model agnostic: cloud providers, enterprise gateway, or local models, with BYOK (eigent.ai) | Not documented on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
| Shared team context | Company memory, agents and skills stored as files in one git repo; grep, diff and roll back any change (kortix.com) | "Memory Carry" keeps confirmed knowledge from one task to the next, scoped to the user, Space or Session (eigent.ai) | Workflows move data between Google Maps, LinkedIn, Apify, Gmail and Google Sheets (kuse.ai) |
| Human review / approval gate | Work reaches main only via a change request a human reviews; per-tool-call allow/ask/block; merge deny-by-default for agents (github.com/kortix-ai/suna) | Follow progress, inspect sources and file changes, compare versions, then approve or ask for revisions (eigent.ai) | Not documented on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
| Agent execution isolation | Each session boots its own isolated Linux sandbox on its own branch; containers by default, microVMs with Platinum (github.com/kortix-ai/suna) | Local execution; the fetched page does not document a per-session isolation model (eigent.ai) | Not documented on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
| Pricing | Self-host free; the repository lists managed Kortix Cloud at $40/seat/month plus usage (github.com/kortix-ai/suna) | Free with BYOK or local models; $19.99/month (2,000 task credits) and $99.99/month (10,000 task credits); custom enterprise tier (eigent.ai) | No public pricing captured on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
| Compliance posture | No third-party certification asserted in the sources reviewed here; documented controls include brokered credentials, a secrets manager, an audit trail and per-resource permissions (github.com/kortix-ai/suna) | "SOC 2 readiness and GDPR compliance work remain in progress" (eigent.ai) | Not documented on the fetched page (kuse.ai) |
Licensing and the self-hosting reality
The difference between "open source" and "source-available" is a difference in license rights, not in whether you can read the code. Open source, as the Open Source Initiative defines it, requires rights such as free redistribution and no discrimination against fields of endeavor (Open Source Definition). Source-available software publishes its code but its license can restrict what you may do with it, and Elastic License 2.0 is one of those restrictive licenses.
Kortix's repository license is Elastic License 2.0, and its limitations are explicit. The license grants a non-exclusive, royalty-free right to use, copy, distribute, make available, and prepare derivative works of the software, then states: "You may not provide the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service, where the service provides users with access to any substantial set of the features or functionality of the software" (LICENSE). The license also forbids moving, changing, disabling or circumventing license-key functionality, and forbids removing licensing or copyright notices (LICENSE).
The practical consequence for a team evaluating the best self-hosted AI agent platform is that ELv2 permits running Kortix on your own infrastructure — that is ordinary use under the grant — while restricting turning the project itself into a competing hosted service. It is a source-available license, not an OSI open-source license, and Kortix's own copy describing the product as open source does not change that classification (github.com/kortix-ai/suna; LICENSE). Kortix's related guide reaches the same conclusion and scopes air-gapped topologies separately (Open Source Claude Cowork Alternative: Self-Hosted Guide).
Eigent's own page makes the opposite kind of claim: "100% open source — host it yourself, free, with your own API keys or local models" (eigent.ai). Because a license claim and a marketing label are different things, the reliable check is the LICENSE file in each project's repository, read against the intended use — self-hosting internally, distributing, or offering the software as a service. This article does not assert Eigent's repository license because it was not fetched for this comparison; it reports only what Eigent's own page states.
Self-hosting has a second reality beyond licensing: how disconnected the install can be. Kortix's self-host path starts a production-style local instance from Docker images and its self-host start command pulls those images from Docker Hub, which Kortix describes as "a self-hosted install rather than a disconnected one" (github.com/kortix-ai/suna). Teams that need a fully air-gapped deployment should treat that as a separate scoping question rather than a default (Open Source Claude Cowork Alternative: Self-Hosted Guide).
When to choose which
Choose Kortix when the deciding factor is ownership of the control plane. Kortix fits teams that want configuration, shared memory, and connector definitions stored as files in a git repository they own; that need per-session isolated execution on their own infrastructure; and that require a review gate before agent work lands (kortix.com; github.com/kortix-ai/suna).
Choose Eigent when the deciding factor is a local-first desktop cowork experience. Eigent fits teams that want a multi-agent desktop product with Spaces, local execution, and bring-your-own-key or local models, and that can accept the compliance position its own page states — SOC 2 and GDPR work still in progress — plus paid credit-based plans beyond the free BYOK tier (eigent.ai).
Choose Kuse when the deciding factor is workflow and content automation rather than a self-hosted agent control plane. Kuse fits teams that want prebuilt automations for lead generation, LinkedIn and YouTube workflows, Gmail and Google Sheets, and document generation (kuse.ai). Teams that require self-hosting, a stated license, or model-key control should confirm those points with Kuse directly, because the fetched page does not document them (kuse.ai).
If you are still mapping the category, the broader open source AI agent platform selection guide compares platforms and frameworks on license, deployment, and governance, and the best self-hosted AI workspace comparison evaluates workspaces on team-oriented criteria such as shared memory, permissions, and review gates.
Verdict
For the query "best self-hosted AI agent platform," the three products answer different questions. Kortix is the documented fit when a team must own the control plane, keep configuration in git, run each session in isolation, and gate agent output through human review — and its Elastic License 2.0 status should be read as source-available, not OSI open source (github.com/kortix-ai/suna; LICENSE). Eigent is a credible local-first desktop alternative with a free bring-your-own-key tier and clearly published paid plans, with its security and privacy certifications still in progress (eigent.ai). Kuse addresses workflow and content automation and does not document self-hosting, licensing, or model control on the page reviewed here (kuse.ai).
To evaluate Kortix's own paths, start with the self-hosted workspace guide, which covers the Docker-based self-hosted control plane and the managed-cloud option alongside the deployment trade-offs.
FAQ
Is Kortix open source?
No. Kortix's repository carries Elastic License 2.0, which the Open Source Initiative does not treat as an open-source license because it restricts fields of use. The license permits self-hosting and modification but forbids providing the software to third parties as a hosted or managed service. Kortix's own marketing calls it open source, so this comparison classifies it as source-available instead (LICENSE; Open Source Definition).
Can you self-host Kortix?
Yes. Kortix documents a self-hosted path that starts a production-style local instance from Docker images and switches the CLI between cloud and your own hosts, supporting a laptop, a VPS, your own VPC, or your own on-prem network. The self-host command pulls images from Docker Hub, so Kortix describes it as a self-hosted install rather than a disconnected one (github.com/kortix-ai/suna).
What does "source-available" mean?
Source-available describes software whose source code you can read and inspect but whose license restricts how you may use it. Open source, by contrast, requires rights such as free redistribution and no discrimination against fields of endeavor. Elastic License 2.0 is source-available: it grants use, copying, distribution, and derivative works but forbids offering the software itself as a hosted or managed service (LICENSE; Open Source Definition).
Is Eigent free to self-host?
Eigent's site says it is "100% open source — host it yourself, free, with your own API keys or local models." The same page lists paid plans at $19.99/month for 2,000 task credits and $99.99/month for 10,000 task credits, plus a custom enterprise tier. Because the page also states that SOC 2 and GDPR work is in progress, confirm the repository LICENSE and your compliance needs before standardizing on it (eigent.ai).
Does Kuse offer self-hosting?
The fetched Kuse page does not document a self-hosting option, a license, or a model-choice policy, and no public pricing was captured. Kuse is positioned as an AI workspace and workflow-automation product rather than a self-hostable agent control plane, so teams that require running the platform on their own infrastructure should confirm those details with Kuse directly (kuse.ai).
Which platform is best for teams that need approval gates?
Kortix documents the most explicit gate: agent work reaches main only through a change request a human reviews, with per-tool-call allow/ask/block rules and merge deny-by-default for agents (github.com/kortix-ai/suna). Eigent documents reviews and approvals where you inspect sources and file changes, then approve or request revisions (eigent.ai). Kuse's fetched page does not document an approval gate (kuse.ai).
Can I bring my own model keys?
Kortix and Eigent both document bring-your-own-key model access. Kortix lets you choose a model per agent, session, or message and supports major providers, an OpenAI-compatible endpoint, or a ChatGPT subscription (kortix.com). Eigent describes itself as model agnostic, connecting cloud providers, an enterprise gateway, or local models (eigent.ai). Kuse's fetched page does not state a model-choice policy (kuse.ai).